Skip to main content

Artists' Books: Artist's Books as Exhibition Catalogue

Artist's Books as Exhibition Catalogue

This selection includes books that were made in relation to an exhibition, yet stand alone as an autonomous work.  These books use design and conceptual elements to create something that goes beyond a simple documentation of an exhibition — in some cases the book functions as the catalog as well as the exhibition space. Click here for a complete list.

exhi

Reading List

An Invocation: Five Hundred and Thirty Books from Southend Central Library. Southend-on-Sea: Focal Point Gallery, 2013. Print. Artist Book 0955 OS

Bellenbaum, Rainer, Renate Buschmann, Benjamin Letzler, Katharina Sieverding, Orson Sieverding, Regina Wyrwoll, Inter Media Art Institute, NWR-Forum, Düsseldorf, and Quadriennale <2010, Düsseldorf>. Katharina Sieverding: testcuts projected data images ; [erscheint anlässlich der Ausstellung = published on the occasion of the exhibition Katharina Sieverding, Testcuts Projected Data Images, Imai – Inter Media Art Institute, c/o NWR-Forum, Düsseldorf, 11.19. – 21.11.2010 ; die Ausstellung ist ein Beitrag zur = the exhibition is part of the Quadriennale 2010 in Düsseldorf]. Köln: Dumont, 2010. Print. Artist Book 0619 OS

Bjork. Bjork. New York, New York : Museum of Modern Art, 2015. Print. Artist Book 1136. 

Bronson, A. A., and Peter Hobbs. AA Bronson & Peter Hobbs: Queer Spirits. New York: Creative Time, 2011. Print. Artist Book 0617

Christov-Bakargiev, Carolyn, Documenta GmbH, and Museum Fridericianum Veranstaltungs GmbH. Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev: Letter to a Friend = Brief an Einen Freund. Ostfildern : Hatje Cantz, 2011. Print. Artist Book 0621

Dzama, Marcel, and David Zwirner (Gallery). Marcel Dzama: Behind Every Curtain. New York: David Zwirner, 2011. Print. Artist Book 0616

Eliasson, Olafur. Olafur Eliasson: Bilar I Am = Cars in Rivers. Crymogea, listasafn Islands : Listasafn Islands National Gallery of Iceland, 2010. Print. Artist Book 0639

Favaretto, Lara. Momentary Monument: The Swamp. Archive Books, 2010. ARCHIVES Artist Book 1005

Fowler, Eve, Corrine Fitzpatrick, Litia Perta, David Senior, Lauren Mackler, Printed Matter, Inc, Conveyor Arts, P.S. 1 Contemporary Art Center, Contemporary Artists’ Books Conference (2013 : New York, N.Y.), and NY Art Book Fair 2013). Anyone Telling Anything is Telling That Thing. Printed Matter inc., 2013. ARCHIVES Artist Book 0987

Gaillard, Cyprien, Hal Foster, Marion von Osten, Susanne Pfeffer, and Kunst-Werke Berlin. Cyprien Gaillard: The Recovery of Discovery. Walther König, 2012. ARCHIVES Artist Book 0922 OS

Graham, Dan, and Kunstverein München. Dan Graham: pavillons. Kunstverein München, 1988. ARCHIVES Artist Book 0654

Grzymala, Monika, M. Catherine de Zegher, Marian Goodman Gallery, and Dian Woodner Collection. Up there up here. Monika Grzymala, 2011. Print. Artist Book 0794

Haeg, Fritz, Stacy Wakefield-Forte, Rachael Hawkwind, and Melissa Thorne. The Sundown Salon Unfolding Archive: A Project by Fritz Haeg. Evil Twin Publications, 2009. Print. Artist Book 0583 OS

Hansdottir, Elin and Leah Whitman-Salkin. Path. Crymogea, 2012.Print. Artist Book 0724

Hoffmann, Jens, Harald Szeemann, Constance Lewallen, Julian Myers, Christian Rattemeyer, and CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Arts. When Attitudes Became Form Become Attitudes: A Restoration, a Remake, a Rejuvenation, a Rebellion. California College of the Arts, 2012. ARCHIVES Artist Book 0869 OS

Horn, Roni, and Vatnasafn/Library of Water (Stykkishólmur, Iceland). Weather Reports You. Artangel/Steidl, 2007. ARCHIVES Artist Book 0769

Jungen, Brian, Art Gallery of Alberta, National Museum of the American Indian (U.S.), and Fonds régional d’art contemporain des pays de la Loire. Brian Jungen: Carapace. In . Edmonton: Art Gallery of Alberta, 2011. Print. Artist Book 0703

Kreig, Bettina, Tom Andrae, Moritz Kaufmann, Christian Ganzenberg, and Ludwig Seyfarth. Bettina Krieg: Abysse. Snoeck, 2011. Print. Artist Book 0704 OS

Kunsthalle Wien, Tammer El-Sheikh, and Gerald Matt. Thomas Ruff : Oberflächen, Tiefen = Surfaces, depths. Verlag für moderne Künst Nürnberg, 2009. ARCHIVES Artist Book 0589

Kuri, Gabriel. Join the Dots and Make a Point. Sternberg Press, 2011. ARCHIVES Artist Book 0600

Long, Gareth, and Derek Sullivan. The Illustrated Dictionary of Received Ideas = Le dictionnaire illustré des idées reçues. Artexte, 2009. ARCHIVES Artist Book 0574 OS

Manders, Mark, Roger Willems, and Sarah-Jane Jaeggi. Mark Manders Reference Book. Roma Publications, 2012. ARCHIVES Artist Book 0784 OS

Manders, Mark, Josh Dillon, Laura J. Hoptman, Rob Kuitenbrouwer, Marije Langelaar, Peter MacCallum, Roger Willems, and York University (Toronto, Ont.): Art Gallery. Mark Manders: Singing Sailors. Art Gallery of York University, 2002. ARCHIVES Artist Book 0587

Ono, Yoko, Kathryn Rattee, Melissa Larner, Rebecca Lewin, and Serpentine Gallery. Yoko Ono: To the Light. Serpentine Gallery, 2012. Print. Artist Book 0816

Peep-Hole Sheet: Quarterly of Artists’ Writings. 4 vols. Milan, Italy: Mousse Publishing, [2009]-. Print. Artist Book 0882

Quaytman, R. H. (Rebecca H.), Neuberger Museum of Art, and Kunsthalle Basel. Spine. Sternberg Press, 2011. Print. Artist Book 0685 OS

Simon, Taryn, Homi K. Bhaba, Geoffrey Batchen, Neue Nationalgalerie (Germany), and Tate Modern (Gallery). A Living Man Declared Dead and Other Chapters: I-XVIII. 1st ed. Mack, 2011. Print. Artist Book 0672 OS

Slavs and Tatars (Group of artists), Mara Goldwyn, Sharjah International Biennial (Sharjah, United Arab Emirates), Koninklijke Academie voor Schone (Ghent), Gdanska Galeria Miejska (Gdansk), REDCAT Art Center (Los Angeles), and Presentation House Gallery (Vancouver). Friendship of Nations: Polish Shi’ite Showbiz. London : Book Works, 2013.ARCHIVES Artist Book 0814

Starling, Simon, Fulvio Ferrari, Ferrari Napoleone, and Galleria Franco Noero. Simon Starling: [24 Hr. Tangenziale]. Galleria Franco Noero, 2006. Artist Book 0593

Thomson, Mungo, and LAND (Los Angeles Nomadic Division). People. LAND, 2011. Artist Book 0773.

Tillmans, Wolfgang, Moderna museet (Stockholm, Sweden), and Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen (Germany). Wolfgang Tillmans. Moderna Museet, 2012. Artist Book 1000 OS

Tuttle, Richard, Matthias Haldemann, Marco Obrist, and Kunsthaus Zug. Richard Tuttle: use of time. Hatje Cantz, 2012.  Artist Book 0806.

Vasiljevic, David, and Bernadette Corporation (Collective). Bernadette Corporation: The Complete Poem. Koenig Books Ltd., 2011. Artist Book 0712

 library@ecuad.ca       604-844-3840        520 East 1st Avenue, Vancouver, BC