Skip to main content
Artist's Book as Archive
A selection of Artists’ Books that utilize quasi-archival practices such as collecting, combining or constructing out of fragments.
The Sundown Salon Unfolding Archive
Call Number: Artist Book 0583 OS
Publication Date: 2009-07-31
This 380 page, 140 foot long, unfolding accordion book published by Evil Twin Publications in 2009 is the comprehensive archive and account of the Sundown Salon series held in the Los Angeles geodesic dome of Fritz Haeg from spring 2001 through fall 2006. - Fritz Heag website
A Wikipedia Reader
Call Number: Artist Book 0511
Publication Date: 2009
"This was commissioned by the Art Libraries Society of New York for the Contemporary Artists Books Conference at Printed Matter's 2009 NY Art Book Fair."
"What follows is the documentation of 23 travels within Wikipedia (navigating from article to article via a connecting hyper-link, producing a string of connecting articles)."
Contributors include Paul Branca, Dexter Sinister, Barbara Ess, Fillip, Rob Giampietro, Marc Handelman, Zach Houston, Adam Katz and Julia Sherman, Brian Kennon/ 2nd Cannons Publications, Chosil Kil, Alex Klein, Marisa Olson, Paul Pieroni, Laurel Ptak, Eileen Quinlan, Michael Smoler, Jamie Stewart, Oraib Toukan, Lia Trinka-Browner, Jen Delos Reyes, Rafael Rozendaal, Ryan Waller, and Amy Yao.
Call Number: Artist Book 0332
Publication Date: 2007
"The receipts in 52 Transactions represent books Kathy Slade borrowed from the Vancouver Public Library from September 7, 2006 to August 30, 2007. -- Cover flap.
100 pisama = 100 letters : 1965-1979
Call Number: Artist Book 0525
Publication Date: 2008
"I kept every single letter, from the first notes received from my mother, in 1965, up to the time I left Belgrade for ever in 1979. I decided to chronologically write down the first sentence from all of these letter, without noting the names of the senders"--Dust jacket
An invocation : five hundred and thirty books from Southend Central Library
Call Number: Artist Book 0955 OS
Publication Date: 2013
Using a selection of books chosen from the former library’s withdrawn stock, British artist has created a permanent installation, concealed within the internal cavity walls of the new Focal Point Gallery, Southend-on-Sea launched in 2013. As the only visible record of the hidden artwork, this artist’s publication documents the covers of the five hundred and thirty books, which have been methodically documented and reproduced over 1,000 pages. -- tipitin website
A Lebanese archive
Call Number: Artist Book 1396 OS
Publication Date: 2015
A Lebanese Archive is based on a collection of archival photographs from Lebanon and the Middle East, which came into the hands of Ania Dabrowska in 2010 when she was a SPACE artist-in-residence at Arlington hostel Camden, London. It belongs to Diab Alkarssifi, a Lebanese émigré, who was living there at the time. -- Lebanese archive website
Dash Snow: I Love You, Stupid
Call Number: Artist Book 0872 OS
Publication Date: 2013-07-31
I Love You, Stupid! brings together over 400 photographs – mostly polaroids – that enable a look into the young artist Dash Snow’s life. -- hatjecantz website
Paul Mccarthy's Low Life Slow Life
Call Number: Artist Book 0524
Publication Date: 2010-08-31
In this unusually designed artist’s book, Paul McCarthy presents his archive of materials that have influenced him.
Low Life Slow Life presents a diverse range of artists and artworks related to Paul McCarthy's memories of his own career. Curated by Paul McCarthy (*1945 in Salt Lake City), the two-part exhibition investigates his life as an artist—from his student years in Salt Lake City and San Francisco during the sixties to his years in Los Angeles from 1970 to the present—with an emphasis on the emergence of alternative performance practices, Conceptual art, and video art. His curatorial selections are eclectic and unconventional, deriving more from his personal recollections than from any historical, objective measure of artistic influence.
Packaged as a recreation of a vintage of Tide detergent, this publication has been conceived to serve as an extension of the show. An artwork in itself, the book showcases a vast range of works that have influenced McCarthy’s career, presenting a personal map of his individual art history and philosophy. --hatjecants website
Nog a Dod
Call Number: Artist Book 0338
Publication Date: 2006-11-15
"Nog A Dod is a landmark in Canadian Oddball Art Publishing, and documents nearly a decade of work by a loosely-affiliated group of primarily Vancouver artists who draw with and about each other. Like their contemporaries and friends in the Royal Art Lodge, they work on each other’s drawings, create small run books and ephemera, and collaborate on numerous projects. Nog A Dod is the first book to document this vibrant scene, and should be of interest to anyone who has been seduced by Marcel Dzama and Paper Rad." -- conundrum website
Call Number: Artist Book 1041
Publication Date: 2014
Lost Art is a catalog of post-modern artworks that have suffered a material destruction, displacement, or disappearance.
firstname.lastname@example.org 604-844-3840 520 East 1st Avenue, Vancouver, BC