Skip to main content

Artists' Books: Catalogues & Books About Artists’ Books

Catalogues & Books About Artists’ Books

These books and catalogues are available in the Emily Carr University Library.

Books By Artists, Tim Guest and Germano Celant

Books By Artists was made to accompany the exhibition of the same name, curated by Tim Guest. Includes black and white images of artists books and short descriptions of each. The book also includes a translation of Germano Celant’s essay “Book as Artwork: 1960/72”.

Contemporary Artists’ Books, Cornelia Lauf and Clive Phillpot

Compiled by Lauf, an independent art historian and Phillpot, a former librarian at the MOMA,  Contemporary Artists’ Books contains essays and images of artists’ books (from fanzines to books of visual poetry, sketchbooks to illustrated books, commercial fashion catalogs to photo albums). The book presents the multiple styles and various concerns of the contemporary creative community.

The Century of Artists’ Books, Johanna Drucker

Since it was published in 1995, The Century of Artists’ Books has become the definitive text in the emerging field of artists’ books. Topics include critical analyses of the poetics of the book, the book as a metaphor, the conceptual space of the book, and books as narrative and non-narrative sequences. Using these specific issues, each chapter examines well-known artists’ book makers and publishers.

A Century of Artists’ Books, Riva Castleman

A Century of Artists’ Books was published in 1994 to accompany the exhibition at The MOMA, New York. This book is an extensive survey of modern illustrated books and includes artists such as Barbara Kruger, Henri Matisse, Pablo Picasso and writers such as Guillaume Apollinarie and Susan Sontag.

Artists’ Books: A Critical Anthology and Sourcebook, Ed. Joan Lyons

Artists’ Books: A Critical Anthology and Sourcebook includes essays which discuss the ways contemporary artists are using and redefining the book format and examine specific works.

The Cutting Edge of Reading: Artists’ Books, Renee Riese Hubert and Judd D. Hubert

This volume expands upon Renée Riese Hubert’s Surrealism and the Book, focusing on recent and contemporary artists’ books. It provides in-depth analysis of individual artists’ books while establishing an international 20th century overview.

Kiosk: Modes of Multiplication: A Sourcebook on Independent Art Publishing, 1999-2009, Ed. Christoph Keller

Christoph Keller’s famous archive contains more than 7000 publications by approximately 500 independent art publishing projects (non commercial publishers, magazines, fanzines, newspapers, journals, audio and video labels, corporate and institutional publishing, etc). The archive focuses on publishing possibilities and the strategies of the editors, publishers, designers, and multipliers of artist publications.

Artists’ Books: The Collaborative Process, Manuel Neri

This catalogue presents Manuel Neri’s few and scarcely documented artists’ books. Neri’s artists’ books represent long collaborative processes between the artist and author. The catalogue also includes an Introduction by Robert Flynn Johnson, Curator-in-Charge of the Achenbach Foundation for Graphic Arts and an essay by Bruce Nixon on Manuel Neri’s artists’ book collaborations.

The Book on Books On Artists’ Books, Arnaud Desjardin

The Book on Books on Artists’ Books is a bibliography of books, pamphlets and catalogues on artists’ books. It contains a wide variety of publications on artists’ books since the 1970s. It is a source book of exhibition, collection, and dealership catalogues, monographs, and other lists published to inform, promote, distribute and circulate artists’ books.

Active Process: Artists’ Books, Photographic & Contemporary: the 1987 Catalogue

Active Process: Artists’ Books, Photographic & Contemporary: the 1987 Catalogue consists of a wide variety of artists’ books and related material produced by Canadian and American artists since 1979. The introduction to the accordion-fold, double-book outlines thematic concerns related to artists’ book production including photography, autobiography, history, mass media and feminism.

Cover to Cover: The Artists’ Book In Perspective, Rob Perrée

Cover to Cover: The Artists’ Book In Perspective looks at the history of artists’ books within an art historical context. The volume concentrates particularly on artists’ book creation during the conceptual art movement and describes the main motives of publishers, collectors, and buyers, pinpointing the distinctions and connections between artists’ books and catalogues. Rob Perrée also considers issues of presentation and offers a prediction about the future of the artist’s book.

Artists’ Books in the Modern Era 1870-2000: the Reva and David Logan Collection of Illustrated Books, Robert Flynn Johnson

This volume presents the best of the Logan Collection, a collection which surveys late nineteenth and twentieth-century developments in the artists’ book genre. Artists’ Books in the Modern Era 1870-2000: the Reva and David Logan Collection of Illustrated Books celebrates publications from the most prestigious publishers and well-known artists (such as Picasso, Kandinsky, Matisse, and more) of the 20th century.

The Book as Art: Artists’ Books from the National Museum of Women in the Arts, Krystyna Wasserman

Accompanying the 2006 exhibition of the same name at the Museum of Women in the Arts in Washington DC, The Book as Art: Artists’ Books from the National Museum of Women in the Arts presents over 100 women’s artist books created by major fine artists and distinguished book artists. The book consists of illustrations and descriptions of the works including reflections by their makers, an introduction by best-selling author Audrey Niffenegger, and essays by leading scholars.

No Longer Innocent: Book Art In America: 1960-1980, Betty Bright

No Longer Innocent: Book Art In America: 1960-1980 addresses the history of the artists’ book and aims to identify its role within a contemporary art context. The scholar and curator Betty Bright identifies three distinct types of artists’ books (the fine press book, the deluxe book, and the bookwork), examines how artists’ books have responded to specific movements, and covers important supporters of the form.

Documenta 13: The Book of Books

This volume brings together essays, artists’ projects, and the core themes of Documenta 13. Documenta 13: The Book of Books reproduces the entire series of publications 100 Notes-100 Thoughts, either as facsimiles or with entirely new layouts, and contains essays from Docuenta 13’s Artistic Director Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev, Chus Martinez, Franco Berardi, and others. Also included are statements from some of the festival’s agents and advisors, illustrated biographies of all participating artists, and a catalogue of the displayed works. 

Catalogue #19, Art Metropole

A sales catalogue from Art Metropole from 1997 with a cover designed by Gary Neill Kennedy.

Retail Catalogue #21, Art Metropole

This useful catalogue lists all publications and artists’ books available through Art Metropole. Each listing includes pricing information and concise descriptions.

Evidence of the Avant Garde Since 1957, Art Metropole

Evidence of the Avant Garde Since 1957, Art Metropole is a catalogue published in conjunction with Art Metropole’s 10th Anniversary exhibition of 1984. Designed by AA Bronson, the catalogue includes text by Bronson, John Goodwin, Christina Ritchie, and Peggy Gale. It also includes an exhibition checklist, an Art Metropole chronology from 1974 – 1984, and an index of works by a large amount of well-known artists.

Booktrek: selected essays on artists’ books (1972-2010), Clive Phillpot [edited by Lionel Bovier]

Booktrek is the first-ever collection of Clive Phillpot’s essays on the definition and development of artists’ books from 1972-2010. Phillpot has been an advocate of the artists’ book form for over 40 years as a critic, a curator, an editor, and the director at the MOMA library during the late 1970s. This book offers an important account of the artist book genre’s evolution.

Esthétique du livre d’artiste : 1960-1980, Anne Moeglin-Delcroix

This is a large-scale catalogue published alongside the exhibit Livre d’artiste : L’invention d’un genre 1960 – 1980 [Artists’ books : The creation of a genre 1960 – 1980] held at the Bibliothèque Nationale, Galerie Mansart in 1997. It contains text by Anne-Moeglin-Delcroix; black-and-white and color illustrations; a general bibliography; reviews; and an index. The book includes a number of well-known artist book makers such as Sol LeWitt, Marcel Broodthaers, Dieter Roth, and more. Text in French.

Creating artists’ books, Sarah Bodman

500 handmade books, volume 2, Julie Chen

Contact Us

 library@ecuad.ca       604-844-3840        South Building Emily Carr University Library 1400 Johnston St., Granville Island Vancouver, BC