Skip to main content
Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
"The Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection (JFABC) digital library is an online guide and finding aid for the rich collection of artists’ publications available in Flaxman Library Special Collections. The JFABC brings together close to ten thousand artists’ publications in all formats and media including: books, zines, multiples, video and audio recordings, digital works, periodicals, and other intimate works of art created by artists of local, national, and international significance. Focusing on materials published from the 1960s to the present, it is complemented by collections of reference works and exhibition catalogues to support in-depth research on artists’ publishing." -- Joan Flasch website.
Primary Information Online Projects
Publications by Seth Siegelaub, Allan Kaprow, Dick Higgins, and others in downloadable PDF format. Primary Information has compiled and digitized a selection of conceptual and avant-garde artists’ books (ie. Sieglaub’s Xerox Book), exhibition catalogues, and pamphlet series’ from the mid 60’s to early 70’s.
Reed College Artists' Books
Searchable and browsable website for the artists' book collection at Reed College.
UCI Libraries Artists' Book Discovery Tool
"This visualization represents 41 artists’ books in UCI Libraries Special Collections & Archives collection. Explore the collection by clicking on bubbles from Subject, Materials, Techniques, and Place of Publication. " -- Artists' Book Tool website.
University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries Artists' Book Collection
"This database is an illustrated, descriptive index to the Artists’ Book Collection, located in the Kohler Art Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison. Presently, the Artists’ Book Collection contains over 800 titles. The database indexes approximately 760 of those titles, over 500 of which have one to four images to visually represent the structure and/or content of the book. With the goal to create a “visual finding aid” to the entire Artists’ Book Collection, the database will be expanded and updated on a periodic basis." -- UW Digital Collections website.
firstname.lastname@example.org 604-844-3840 520 East 1st Avenue, Vancouver, BC