Skip to main content
ARCA ECUAD Institutional Repository
Find scholarly research materials and other digital assets from our archives and the Wosk Master Print Collection.
Images for art, architecture and archeology. Uses include: viewing and analyzing images, saving groups of images, and creating presentations both online and offline. Available solely for educational and scholarly uses that are noncommercial in nature.
The Federated Academic Digital Imaging System (FADIS) is learning management and courseware system developed for image based teaching of ar, architecture and visual culture. The goal of FADIS is the creation of a freely available common repository and delivery system for education and research available to contributing institutions. Click here for more information. Access is restricted to faculty, students, and staff of each participating institution. All content is to be used for the purpose of private study, research, criticism, and review. It is the user's responsibility to operate within and to observe the copyright laws of Canada.
Oxford Art Online / Grove Art
Oxford Art Online provides full-text access to Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Grove Art Online includes all aspects of world art from prehistory to the present. Includes full text access to 45,000 articles contributed by 6,700 scholars in 120 countries. Includes 21,000 biographies, 130,000 fine art images and links to hundreds of museum and gallery web sites around the world.
AskART is an online database containing over 120,000 artists from early 16th-century through the present. Access information about artists biographies, auction records, financial graphics, magazine ads(pre-1998) and images. Over 6,000 museums and dealers are also referenced
accessCeramics is a growing collection of images of contemporary ceramics by recognized artists. It is designed for use by artists, arts educators, scholars and the general public, and is intended to fill a void in contemporary ceramics digital image collections on the web.
CCCA Canadian Art Database
The CCCA Canadian Art Database Project is a work in progress. With the overall objective of broadening public awareness of contemporary Canadian Art in Canada and abroad, the CCCA is documenting the careers of some of Canada's leading professional artists, designers, art writers and curators, as well as some important Canadian art institutions and organizations that have helped shape the Canadian art scene since the 1960s.
Historical Images Database
Vancouver Public Library, Special Collections. These images are from the VPL Historical Photographs Collection. The archival collection consists of more than 250,000 black and white negatives and prints covering all aspects of life in British Columbia and Yukon Territory from the 1860s onward. The online Historical Photographs Database provides access to over 30,000 images; this number continues to grow as more images are scanned and added to the website. For those images not yet digitised, access is by using a card index in the Special Collections Department Reading Room known as The Historical Photographs Card Index. Photocopies of some of these images may be viewed in albums in the reading room. However, the majority of the images are available in negative format only and will need to be viewed on the light table. Special Collections staff will assist with this.
Digital Images Collections Guide
A curated bibliography of quality digital image collections spanning 85 subjects, including 950 digital collections. Most are free.
The Commons was launched on January 16 2008, when it released its pilot project in partnership with The Library of Congress. You can view all the participating institutions on the site. The program has two main objectives: 1. To increase access to publicly-held photography collections, and 2. To provide a way for the general public to contribute information and knowledge.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art creates, organizes, and disseminates a broad range of digital images and data that document the rich history of the Museum, its collection, exhibitions, events, people, and activities. Images of artworks in the Museum's collection fall into two categories: images of works the Museum believes to be in the public domain, or those to which the Museum waives any copyright it might have; images of works the Museum knows to be under copyright or other restrictions.
MoMA’s evolving collection contains almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art by over 10,000 artists. 65,000 works are available online.
Public Domain Review Images
Founded in 2011, The Public Domain Review is an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to promoting and celebrating the public domain in all its richness and variety. All works eventually fall out of copyright – from classics works of art to absentminded doodles – and in doing so they enter the public domain, a vast commons of material that everyone is free to enjoy, share and build upon without restriction. Our aim is to help our readers explore this rich terrain – like a small exhibition gallery at the entrance to an immense network of archives and storage rooms that lie beyond.
Sources for Digital Images
A list of basic information regarding terms and conditions of image use at institutions, with links that lead to the homepage or image resources page of the organization. Descriptions for each entry are provided by the institutions; the tags, such as “Fee for Commercial Use” or “Fee Discount for Academic Publication” are provided by CAA to guide the user in choosing resources appropriate to his or her needs.
a collection of 37,040,370 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
The material you find here comes from galleries, libraries, archives and museums from all over Europe that want to share their collections with a wider audience, whether it is for work, learning, or just to enjoy.
Digital Images for teaching and research are available from licensed digital image collections and from freely available digital collections online.
For more information, see the following resources:
firstname.lastname@example.org 604-844-3840 520 East 1st Avenue, Vancouver, BC