Skip to main content

HUMN 101 Spring 2017: Library Resources

Types of Resources

Consider what types of documents might be relevant to your research :

  • Books (consider a book that addresses a theme that you would like to build on)
  • Exhibitions catalogues (look at previous exhibition catalogues for the artist(s) and read the curatorial essays)
  • Exhibition reviews (has a review been published for the exhibition you're writing about)
  • Subject – encyclopedia article (look up references to art movements, artists, etc that you are not familiar with)
  • Newspaper article (you might find an interesting review of the exhibition in a Canadian newspaper)
  • Magazine article (has anything been published in Canadian Art, for example, about the show?)
  • Scholarly-peer-reviewed journal article (Academic Journal)

Books in the Library

Start with a Quick Search (a search that interfaces with all of our print and electronic resources) 

http://www.connect.ecuad.ca/library

Start by limiting your search to Catalogue Only (Books and Media) to identify what books, exhibition catalogues, DVDs or artists’ books we might have in the collection. Then expand to include results from all of our resources.

Journals and Magazines

Journals can be accessed in multiple ways, depending on each individual title: in print at the ECU
Library, on the Internet as an e-journal, full text in an ECU Library-subscribed database, in person or via inter-library loan from another library (ILL).
 
Having difficulty locating a specific journal? – speak with a librarian
 
For a general overview of journals in this subject, try searching for journals tagged by topic: “Critical and Cultural Studies

Databases

The majority of databases can be searched together through the library’s Discovery Search. However, if you are interested in a more limited search you can access the following databases individually.

Please note, when accessing databases from off campus you will need to login using your ECU email user name and password. For the full list of databases the library offers please visit the databases link on the library home page.

Listed below is a selection of authoritative and scholarly databases.

Search Engines vs. Databases: Why not Google everything?

  • Search engines are important tools that point you to websites, just remember to ask where the information on the website is coming from.
  • Websites can be useful tools for accessing information on professional organizations, other Libraries and Colleges, Museum and Gallery Collections, designers, professional associations, etc.
  • Remember that information on the Internet is not always current, accurate or authoritative. Ask questions like : Who made and maintains this site ? What are their credentials ? Is the information current ?
  • Always write down the URL of the website and the date you accessed the site in case you decide to include this information in your research documentation

Get help

Visit the reference desk or schedule an appointment with a reference librarian to discuss your research. See Contact the Library page for details.

Resources on Writing About Art

Contact Us

 library@ecuad.ca       604-844-3840        South Building Emily Carr University Library 1400 Johnston St., Granville Island Vancouver, BC