LibGuides: Cultural Theory + Critical Studies: Databases

Accessing Resources in Databases

Many of the library resources can be searched together through the library’s General Search. However, if you are interested in a more limited search, or want to access resources not found in the General Search, you can access databases individually.

Please note, when accessing databases from off campus you will need to login using your ECU email user name and password. For the full list of databases the library offers please visit the A-Z Database List on the library home page.

General Search
The General Search on the library homepage allows you to search in multiple databases at once. From the search results screen, you can limit the search by format, date, subject, and other facets.
A-Z Database List
A list of the databases that the library subscribes to, along with open access online resources that we recommend.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic. Provides peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
Academic Video Online / Alexander Street Videos This link opens in a new window
- Academic Video Online (AVON) provides access to more than 63,000* (and growing) videos all cross-searchable from a single platform. Includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- Art & Architecture Source features full-text articles—as well as detailed indexing and abstracts—for an international array of journals, books, podcasts, images and more. Content includes over 640 full-text journals and more than 225 full-text books. Includes: Art Index / Abstracts / Full Text / Retrospective (formerly Wilson Databases) plus Art & Architecture Complete (EBSCO Database).
Art, Design & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
- The Art, Design & Architecture collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- Covers many topics pertaining to indigenous North Americans, including culture, history, and daily life. Ideal resource for researching the contributions, struggles and issues surrounding North America's indigenous peoples.
- Contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Feminist Art Theses This link opens in a new window
- The aim of these pages is to provide a single point of access to research completed at MA and PhD level on the work on contemporary women artists and feminist art deposited in a national archive or University repository. This information is currently very hard to find beyond national borders. This was the rational for making an international resource available in this area and on this subject.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- A searchable, online, full-text archival collection of core scholarly journals and ebooks mainly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Emily Carr Library subscribes to the following JSTOR Collections: * Arts & Sciences III * Arts & Sciences V
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- Provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers.
- Includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing 9000+ terms.
Project MUSE Standard Collection Journals + eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Academic and peer-reviewed journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences from scholarly and university publishers.
- The Standard Collection is a subset of about 300 journals of the Premium Collection of over 450 journals.
- Open Access content on this platform included. Discover more about the Muse Open Access collection link here
Worldcat This link opens in a new window
- WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also discover many new kinds of digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.