LibGuides: Master of Design: Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases

Art, Design & Architecture Collection
Includes indexes such as ARTbibliographies Modern, Design and Applied Arts Index, and International Bibliography of Art, along with full-text journals. Relevant to Fine Arts, Design, and Architecture.
Grove Art Online
Covers global art from prehistory to the present, including artist biographies, bibliographies, and thousands of images. Also provides access to Oxford Companion to Western Art and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Relevant to Fine Arts, Art History, and Critical and Cultural Studies.
PubMed Central
Archive of peer-reviewed scientific literature in biomedical and life sciences, providing open access to high-quality research articles.
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database with peer-reviewed journals, books, reports, and periodicals covering humanities, social sciences, arts, medical sciences, and more.
JSTOR
Access to full-text, archival scholarly articles and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. ECU subscribes to Arts & Sciences III and V collections. Relevant to all programs.
Project MUSE Standard Collection Journals + eBooks
Access to full-text, peer-reviewed journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences, with open-access content available. Relevant to Critical and Cultural Studies, Art History, and Writing.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
A vast collection of eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities, and social sciences. Useful for researchers across multiple disciplines.

ACM Digital Library
Journals, magazines, newsletters, and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery. It covers topics like interaction design, virtual/augmented/mixed reality, and machine learning. Relevant to interaction design, game design, media arts, and computational arts.
Bloomsbury Design Library
Includes the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design, World History of Design, Encyclopedia of Asian Design, design and craft ebooks, and museum image collections. Relevant to all aspects of Design.
Design Research Society Digital Library
Archive of design research publications, covering conferences from 1971 to the present. Relevant to Design in general.
Internet Archive Software Collection
Offers millions of vintage and historical software programs, CD-ROM images, and multimedia, including game play footage and promotional materials. Relevant to Digital + Interactive Arts, Computational Arts, and Game Design.
Library Stack
An eBook lending system and digital file repository focused on contemporary art, design, architecture, philosophy, and critical theory. Relevant to Communication Design, Critical and Cultural Studies, and Architecture. PRIVACY NOTICE: Account creation in order to borrow books requires personal information stored outside Canada.
MATREC Sustainable Materials & Trends
An international observatory for eco-friendly materials, providing research on sustainable product design and trends. Relevant to Industrial Design, Material Arts, and Environmental Design.

LinkedIn Learning
Online courses in various subjects for professional and academic skill-building. Useful for researchers and students across all disciplines.
O'Reilly for Higher Education Online Books
Provides digital access to 21,000+ books and tutorials on technology, business, and design, including For Dummies, O’Reilly, and Adobe Press. Relevant to Interaction Design, Industrial Design, and Communication Design.

Full List of Streaming Databases

Feature Films at ECU
Streaming feature and documentary films licensed by the ECU Library for research and teaching.
Kanopy Streaming Service
Offers on-demand educational films. Access at ECU is limited to previously licensed titles, with the option to request new licenses. Relevant to Film + Screen Arts, Animation, and Media Arts.
Stash Permanent Collection
A curated archive of motion design, animation, VFX, and short films, including TV ads, title sequences, game trailers, and interviews. Relevant to Animation, Film + Screen Arts, and Media Arts. PRIVACY NOTICE: Requires sign-in.
Westar Music and Sound Effects
A collection of music and sound effects for educational use, including local broadcast and internet productions. Useful for students and educators in Film + Screen Arts, Animation, and Media Arts.
World Cinema Collection
Over 1,000 films from the silent era to contemporary cinema, featuring works from Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, and more.