Wikimedia Commons is the image site for Wikipedia. If you want to upload a photograph to a Wikipedia page, you should upload it on Wikimedia Commons. Once you’ve uploaded, Wikimedia Commons will give you a file name that you can embed in a relevant Wikipedia article.
All Images on Wikimedia Commons have some sort of public domain license. This is a requirement of all uploaded images.
Use the same login and password that you would for Wikipedia on Wikimedia Commons, and all of the Wikimedia Foundation’s sister sites.
When you share your work on Wikipedia Commons you grant anyone permission to use, copy, modify, and sell it.
WHAT CAN I UPLOAD?
You may upload works that you created entirely yourself. This includes photos and videos of:
natural landscapes, animals, plays
public figure and people photographed in public places (only with consent in some cases, depending on local laws)
useful or non-artistic objects
original graphs, maps, diagrams and audio
Commons can’t accept work created by or based on the work of others – including photographs of it. By default, you can’t upload someone else’s work. This includes material such as:
screenshots of TV shows, movies, DVDs, and software
drawings of characters from comics, TV, or movies – even if you drew them
most pictures published on the internet
photos of you not taken by you (the copyright holder is the person who took the photograph unless it is a formal work for hire)
You can upload someone else’s work if the author granted permission for anyone to use, copy, modify, and sell it – by releasing it under a free license. (Be sure to provide a link to the source, where the license is stated.)
You can upload someone else’s work if it is in the public domain (usually very old works).
You can upload your photographs of public domain works, such as old buildings, statues, and art.
accessCeramics is a growing collection of images of contemporary ceramics by recognized artists. It is designed for use by artists, arts educators, scholars and the general public, and is intended to fill a void in contemporary ceramics digital image collections on the web.
The CCCA Canadian Art Database Project is a work in progress. With the overall objective of broadening public awareness of contemporary Canadian Art in Canada and abroad, the CCCA is documenting the careers of some of Canada's leading professional artists, designers, art writers and curators, as well as some important Canadian art institutions and organizations that have helped shape the Canadian art scene since the 1960s.
Vancouver Public Library, Special Collections. These images are from the VPL Historical Photographs Collection. The archival collection consists of more than 250,000 black and white negatives and prints covering all aspects of life in British Columbia and Yukon Territory from the 1860s onward. The online Historical Photographs Database provides access to over 30,000 images; this number continues to grow as more images are scanned and added to the website. For those images not yet digitised, access is by using a card index in the Special Collections Department Reading Room known as The Historical Photographs Card Index. Photocopies of some of these images may be viewed in albums in the reading room. However, the majority of the images are available in negative format only and will need to be viewed on the light table. Special Collections staff will assist with this.
The Commons was launched on January 16 2008, when it released its pilot project in partnership with The Library of Congress. You can view all the participating institutions on the site. The program has two main objectives: 1. To increase access to publicly-held photography collections, and 2. To provide a way for the general public to contribute information and knowledge.