LibGuides: Film and Media: Find a film

Find a film

When you need to find a film to watch, here are some ways to find a film at Emily Carr University

Search the library catalogue, you may find a DVD, VHS, or link to stream the film
If you don't have a DVD or VHS player, the library has some you can use in-house
All of our streaming resources A - Z Databases: Video Streaming
Selected streaming resources:

Academic Video Online / Alexander Street Videos
Access to over 63,000 videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, and news programs. Broad applicability across disciplines.
American Indian Film Gallery
An online collection of over 450 historic films (1925–2010) by and about Indigenous peoples of the Americas. Relevant to Indigenous Studies, Film + Screen Arts, and Critical and Cultural Studies.

Many of the films from that period were sponsored by industry or governmental agencies. Others were made by independent educational filmmakers. With the change in technology from film to video, films in the collection shift from being about Native people to by Native peoples. Much of the work made in the last third of the 20th century comes from Indian communities themselves. You will find a wide variety of lifeways, cultural practices, biographies, public presentations, governmental actions, public ceremonials, and people represented. Some films also contain audio of Native languages being spoken, chants, and songs, providing a valuable resource for language preservation. In July 2011, this collection was awarded to the University of Arizona. The original films are preserved by the Library of Congress.
Audio Ciné Films (ACF) Streaming
Popular and classic films from studios like Universal, Disney, MGM, Sony, VVS, and Lionsgate. Relevant to film studies, animation, media arts and storytelling.
Black Film Archive
A collection of Black films from 1915–1979, offering historical and cultural context. Relevant to Film + Screen Arts, Media Arts, and Critical and Cultural Studies.
Bloomsbury Video Library
Features experimental and indie films, documentaries, performance art, and interviews with artists, alongside dance and music. Relevant to Film + Screen Arts.
British Columbia's Knowledge Network
Public broadcaster, offering international dramas, documentaries, performances, and live TV. Relevant to Film + Screen Arts, Media Arts, and Critical and Cultural Studies. PRIVACY NOTICE: Free with a personal account.
CBC Curio
Provides commercial-free access to CBC documentaries, news reports, and archival footage. Also includes access to BBC and National Geographic content. Relevant across disciplines.
Criterion on Demand
Streaming service with 2,000+ major motion pictures, including Hollywood films, documentaries, and international films in multiple languages. Relevant to Film + Screen Arts.
Feature Films at ECU
Streaming feature and documentary films licensed by the ECU Library for research and teaching.
Kanopy Streaming Service
Offers on-demand educational films. Access at ECU is limited to previously licensed titles, with the option to request new titles. Relevant to Film + Screen Arts, Animation, and Media Arts.
National Film Board
Educational streaming access to Canadian documentaries, animations, and experimental films. Relevant to C+AC, Art, Film + Screen Arts, Media Arts, and Animation. ONLY ACCESSIBLE FROM CANADIAN IP ADDRESSES.
Stash Permanent Collection
A curated archive of motion design, animation, VFX, and short films, including TV ads, title sequences, game trailers, and interviews. Relevant to Animation, Film + Screen Arts, and Media Arts. PRIVACY NOTICE: Requires sign-in.
World Cinema Collection
Over 1,000 films from the silent era to contemporary cinema, featuring works from Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, and more.