Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

A guide to accessing archival materials at ECU and online. Includes information on key archival concepts, online archives resources and archival citations.

Citing Archival Sources

The practice of citing archival sources is similar to other types of materials but requires a couple of elements that are unique to archival materials. Usually this information will be found in archival finding aids or online descriptions. If you are having a hard time finding information required for citation, feel free to contact the reference archivist at the organization or email kwaller@ecuad.ca.

Title - the title assigned to the file or item that you wish to cite

Emily Carr College of Art and Design : Graduation Stamp Catalogue 1989
Behind the palette 1936

Name of Fonds or Collection - the name given to the fonds or collection (group of materials) by the archives

BC Gay and Lesbian Archives
Co-op Radio fonds
E. Pauline Johnson Collection

Reference Code - the unique identifier assigned to the file or item (much like the call number you might use to find a library book, although every archival institution may have their own system and they may look different from organization to organization.)
 

F-111-6-0-0-9
AM1675-S5-: 2018-020.3048

Location - box and folder number (the box and folder number is where the material is physically stored)

03-B-06 fld 05
6.0.4. Box 5

Repository - the archives or library where the material is held and the geographic location

Emiily Carr University of Art + Design Archives, Vancouver, British Columbia
The Arquives, Toronto, Ontario

The type of citation you will use will depend on the requirements of the assignment or field of study. You can find instructions for APA, Chicago and MLA styles in the following tabs.

In-text citations

Enclose the author or creator's name and date in brackets. You may also use the title if the author/creator is unknown.

Van Halm graduated from the Vancouver School of Art in 1974 (Graduates 1974, 1974).

Reference page citations

Author [last name first]. (year, month, day). Title. Name of fonds or collection (identifier and/or box/folder/item number). Name and location of repository.

Example of correspondence:

JoAnn. 1987. Letter from JoAnn. Rupert Raj fonds (F0021-1-158, Box 3). The Arquives, Toronto, Ontario.

Example of a textual document:

City of Vancouver. (1970, August 11). Council Meeting Minutes : Aug. 11, 1970. City of Vancouver fonds, City Council Minutes series (COV-S31-F104.11, Box: 025-C-02 fld 21). City of Vancouver Archives, Vancouver, British Columbia.

Example of a photograph:

Addison, Merle. (2002 December 1). Black and white image of Rebecca Belmore on stage at the Indian Acts Cabaret which took place on Dec. 1, 2002 (Indian Acts Conference Cabaret #3 Roll 8 Image 23). grunt Archives, Vancouver, British Columbia.

Example of a ephemera (posters, handbills, promotional materials etc.):

Persons With AIDS Society. (1988). 3rd annual P.W.A. [Persons With AIDS] walkathon : 10K for P.W.A. : Sunday, June 26, 1988. BC Gay and Lesbian Archives, Poster series (AM1675-S3-: 2018-020.1705). City of Vancouver Archives, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Example of a graphic material:

Rebay, Hilla. (1920). Woman getting dressed [colour screen print]. Wosk Masterworks Print Collection (YW164). Emily Carr University Special Collections, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

In-text citations

MLA uses in-text citations. Enough information needs to be provided so that the reader may identify the source in the Works Cited page. Depending on if there are multiple works by the same author or an item with no known author, the author's surname and/or date and/or title is sufficient.

Van Halm graduated from the Vancouver School of Art in 1974 (Vancouver School of Art, Graduates 1974, 1974).

Reference page citations

Author (last name, first name). Title/description of material. Date (day month year). Call number, identifier or box/folder/item number. Name of fonds or collection. Name of repository, location.

Example of correspondence:

JoAnn. Letter from JoAnn. 1987. F0021-1-158, Box 3. Rupert Raj fonds. The Arquives, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Example of a textual document:

City of Vancouver. Council Meeting Minutes : Aug. 11, 1970. 11 August 1970. COV-S31-F104.11, Box: 025-C-02 fld 21. City Council Minutes series, City of Vancouver fonds. City of Vancouver Archives, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Example of a photograph:

Addison, Merle. Black and white image of Rebecca Belmore on stage at the Indian Acts Cabaret which took place on Dec. 1, 2002. 1 December 2002. Indian Acts Conference Cabaret #3 Roll 8 Image 23. grunt Archives, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Example of a ephemera (posters, handbills, promotional materials etc.):

Persons With AIDS Society. 3rd annual P.W.A. [Persons With AIDS] walkathon : 10K for P.W.A. : Sunday, June 26, 1988 poster. 1988. Posters series, BC Gay and Lesbian Archives. AM1675-S3-: 2018-020.1705. City of Vancouver Archives, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Example of a graphic material:

Rebay, Hilla. Woman getting dressed [colour screen print]. 1920. YW164. Wosk Masterworks Print Collection. Emily Carr University Special Collections, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Footnotes or endnotes

When compiling footnotes or endnotes, first cite the specific archival record, followed by the date (day, month, year), identifier (box/folder/item number), name of collection, name and location of repository.

Example of correspondence:

Correspondence from JoAnn to Rupert Raj, April 1987, F0021-1-158, Box 3, Rupert Raj fonds, The Arquives, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Example of a textual document:

Vancouver City Council Meeting Minutes, 11 August 1970, COV-S31-F104.11, Box: 025-C-02 fld 21, City of Vancouver fonds, City Council Minutes series, City of Vancouver Archives, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Example of a photograph:

Photograph of Rebecca Belmore on stage at the Indian Acts Cabaret by Merle Addison, 1 December 2002, Indian Acts Conference Cabaret #3 Roll 8 Image 23, grunt Archives, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Example of a ephemera (posters, handbills, promotional materials etc.):

Poster for 3rd annual P.W.A. [Persons With AIDS] walkathon : 10K for P.W.A., 1988, AM1675-S3-: 2018-020.1705, BC Gay and Lesbian Archives, Posters series, City of Vancouver Archives, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Example of a graphic material:

Woman getting dressed [colour screen print] by Hilla Rebay, 1920, YW164, Wosk Masterworks Print Collection, Emily Carr University Special Collections, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

 library@ecuad.ca       604-844-3840        520 East 1st Avenue, Vancouver, BC