Archives

The ECU Archives contains records transferred from faculties and departments of Emily Carr University of Art + Design, as well as materials donated by alumni, students, faculty, and other members of the ECU community. We welcome donations of Emily Carr University (Vancouver School of Art, Emily Carr College of Art + Design) related materials that add to the collection, further our understanding of ECU's history and add voices and stories to those that are already represented.

This page provides guidelines on the types of material we may be interested in, but we ask that prior to sending or dropping off materials that you contact archives@ecuad.ca

Not all donations can be accepted, please refer to the Archives Collection Policy for more information. We do not collect works of art or materials about the artist Emily Carr.

The ECU archives appreciates contributions from alumni, students, friends, family and community members. We are especially interested in:

• Primary source materials that shed light on student and academic life, this can be materials such as diaries, correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, course materials, videos, and audio recordings.
• Student organization records - constitutions, bylaws, meeting minutes, membership lists, correspondence, publications, even announcements, posters and photographs.
• Audiovisual recordings of events at Emily Carr University (College/Institute/Vancouver School of Art)

We collect and preserve historically significant administrative and departmental records. We can work with staff, faculty and administrators to identify and transfer such records into the archives. If you work at ECU and believe your office has records that belong in the archives, please email archives@ecuad.ca for guidance.