AskART is an online database containing over 120,000 artists from early 16th-century through the present. Access information about artists biographies, auction records, financial graphics, magazine ads(pre-1998) and images. Over 6,000 museums and dealers are also referenced
Digitized collections of print manuscripts, drawings, photographs, books and more, across geographic regions and time periods, from the University of Cambridge
Digital object collection that documents the shifting aesthetics and sensibilities of the designers of the day and features: packaging, corporate communications, brand and identity systems, typography, editorial design and illustration, and experience design.
An index of avant-garde and modernist (1890-1945) periodicals, with links to digitized versions. Bilbliographic information contained is also meant to help following bibliographic references to sources.
The Smithsonian Design Museum, covering historical and contemporary design. Browse their digitized collection of over 215,000 objects. For primary sources, see their "From Sketch to Product" highlight collection.
High resolution photographed artefacts, from advertising, book design, calligraphy, comics, computer graphics, engraving, graphic design, lettering, packaging design, print design, typography and more.
Historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. Vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television.
AdViews is a collaborative project between the Digital Collections Program and the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History, as well as a number of other groups, at Duke University.
On the landing page, click on "Sign in" to gain access to the Permanent Collection. Disciplines include animation, motion design, motion design, VFX and more. Video types include:
TV and cinema advertising
Title and broadcast designs
Music videos
Brand films
Game trailers and cinematics
Short films
Behind the scenes features and exclusive interviews
The authority on world dress – discover a wide range of text and images from across cultures and throughout history. Biographies of important designers, 150,000 fashion images, 100+ ebooks on fashion including Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion
The Smithsonian Design Museum, covering historical and contemporary design. Browse their digitized collection of over 215,000 objects. For primary sources, see their "From Sketch to Product" highlight collection.
Material District stimulates and inspires architects, designers and producers to apply materials to their designs. The company is a knowledge centre for developments and innovations in materials, and their applications for architecture and design. Material District is familiar with many innovative materials from all over the world, as well having knowledge of their specific characteristics.
MATREC is a company specializing in consulting on sustainable materials and products, trends, market scenarios, and eco-friendly product innovation. Today MATREC cooperates with Companies, Research Institutes, Architects and Designers through the provision of a variety of services and the opening of its International Observatory for Innovative Sustainability made up of thousands of materials and products, in order to promote the research, design, and development of new socially and environmentally sustainable products.
An index with visual references of over 1000 designers, publishers and manufacturers of furniture, lighting, decorative arts and industrial design from the 20th century.
library@ecuad.ca 
604-844-3840