LibGuides: Fashion: Fashion databases

Fashion Databases

Below you will find databases that focus on fashion, or contain images, ebooks, videos or articles about fashion.

Artstor Public Collections
Collection includes images and media shared by institutions to support broader access to art and cultural resources. Users can search, view, share, download, cite, and print materials, with rights information available in each record. Relevant to visual arts, art history, and digital humanities.
Berg Fashion Library
Covers global dress and fashion history, featuring designer biographies, 150,000 images, and 100+ ebooks, including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion. Relevant to Fashion and Textiles.
Europeana Fashion
Access over 700,000 digital fashion objects, including historical dresses, accessories, sketches, catwalk photos, and videos from European museums and archives.
Fibre Stories
Provides resources, full-text publications, audio discussions, and instructional zines on sustainability and ethical practices in the textile industry, including a publication, podcast, and practical how-to guides. Topics include natural dyeing, fibre plant identification, and local fibresheds. Relevant to Textile Arts, Industrial Design, and Critical and Cultural Practices.
Google Arts & Culture Fashion Project
Over 400 curated stories on fashion from leading institutions worldwide. Relevant to Fashion, Art History, and Cultural Studies.
Library Stack
Focused on contemporary art, design, expanded cinema, sound art, and critical theory. Formats include e-books, essays, exhibition materials, sound and film, and other none-traditional digital formats. Relevant to Communication Design, Critical and Cultural Studies, and Architecture.PRIVACY NOTICE: Account creation in order to borrow books requires personal information stored outside Canada.
MATREC Sustainable Materials & Trends
An international observatory for eco-friendly materials, providing research on sustainable product design and trends. Relevant to Industrial Design, Material Arts, and Environmental Design.
Smithsonian Collections Search Center
An online catalogue featuring 17.3 million records from Smithsonian museums, libraries, and archives. Covers art & design, history & culture, and science & technology, with over 7.3 million images, videos, and audio files. Relevant to Art History, Fine Arts, and Critical and Cultural Studies.