Skip to main content

ECU Library Collections: Menu Collection

Describes different collections available at ECU Library

Menu Collection

The menu collection is a valuable resource for students and faculty in Communication Design. Located in the Library Archives on the main floor of the Library, this collection contains over 3500 menus from around the world.

The thirty-five boxes of menus cover the period from 1950s to the 1990s. However, the majority of the menus are from the 1960s - 1980s. They have been organized primarily by geographic location with the exception of travel craft menus (airlines, cruise ships, and train), which are organized by type of craft and indicate points of departure and arrival in the menu title.

Many of the menus are beautiful works of art with interesting use of typography, layout, graphics, shape, and design. They range from delicate hand-written pages to large leather-bound menus.

About Shirley Lipovsky

birthday luncheon for Mr. Louis ArmstrongShirley Lipovsky's collection was donated to Emily Carr University of Art + Design in 2001. Ms. Lipovsky began her restaurant menu collection in the 1950s. During this time she began writing away for menus from around the world and receiving them as gifts from friends.

Read a recollection of Shirley Lipovsky written by her friend Rho Tuttle, and an excerpt from Shirley's unfinished manuscript, "The Pursuit of a Collector."

Read Top of the Menu or Armchair Cook's Tour, interviews with Shirley Lipovsky published in The Vancouver Sun.

Using the Menu Collection

The menus are in the process of being catalogued and many are searchable in our library catalogue. The menus are stored in the Library Archives and are available for in-library viewing during regular library hours.

Other Online Menu Collections

Loading

Get help

Visit the reference desk or schedule an appointment with a reference librarian to discuss your research. See Contact the Library page for details.

Related Guides

Contact Us

 library@ecuad.ca       604-844-3840        South Building Emily Carr University Library 1400 Johnston St., Granville Island Vancouver, BC